Skip to content

Blue Baby Blue (berry) Bites

March 11, 2009
Blue Baby Blue (berry) Bites

Blue Baby Blue (berry) Bites

BABY  BLUE  BITES

Remember that song, “Blue Baby Blue”?  I think it was sung by Bobby Vinton.  Anyway, I couldn’t help thinking of it when making this  berry, berry good little dessert.   And, I think I have to make a confession here:  I’m pretty sure that I have now become totally obsessed with the basic dough recipe.  I’ve used that dough to make appetizers,  meals, and desserts.  It’s just that it’s so doggone easy to work with!   Hello, my name is Claire and I am addicted to using basic dough.  (There.  I’ve confessed.  But,  I don’t expect a cure!)

Ingredients:

basic dough   ( find the recipe on this blog under the recipe title “Extraordinary Pizza”, or “Pizza My Heart”)

1 can  (12 oz. )  blueberry pie filling

about 1/2 cup ground walnuts  ( I do this in my mini food processor )

confectioner’s  ( powdered ) sugar,  for dusting

**note:  you may certainly substitute any fruit pie filling or any diced up fruit of your choice ~~  also, you may even use purchased frozen pizza  dough.

Directions:

I cut my dough into approximately  6″  x  2″  logs,  just to make life easier!  Then, roll each log  (one at a time, please! ) into a circle with approximately a  10″  or 12″  diameter.

Using a soup spoon,  dollop about  two or three spoonfuls of the pie filling onto the dough, leaving a border on the edge of about 1/2 “.   Sprinkle a spoonful or so of the walnuts on top.

I used a ravioli cutter for this next part, but you can use a pizza cutter or just a sharp knife.  Make slices of the circle just as if it were a pizza.  Then, starting from the long end, roll up each slice and place on greased ( or “Pam-ed” ) baking sheet.

Bake at 375 degrees for about 15 or 20 minutes, until golden.  Sprinkle with powdered sugar.

You’ll never feel blue eating these!!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. limeandlemon permalink
    March 21, 2009 1:42 pm

    simple and delicious … Laila .. http://limeandlemon.wordpress.com/

  2. March 22, 2009 8:39 pm

    Looks super yummy!

  3. April 19, 2009 3:48 am

    Thanks, Dimah….. come back soon!

Leave a Reply

