Skip to content

“HERE’S LOOKIN’ AT YOU”, FRITTATA

February 15, 2009
"HERE'S LOOKIN' AT YOU", FRITTATA

"HERE'S LOOKIN' AT YOU", FRITTATA

It really looks like eyes,  doesn’t it?  And it really does seem like it’s looking at you, doesn’t it?  Aw, c’mon ~ humor me!  I’ve had a tough day with my computer!  I fell in love with Humphrey Bogart in my doctor’ s office.  Yeah, I really did.  My doctor was a huge fan of “Bogie” and had these enormous posters of him all over his office.  All in black-and-white.  Of course, my favorite was the one of Bogart and Lauren Bacall….. sigh.  They looked so in love.

Remember that song sung by Bernie Higgins…….here are some of the lyrics…..
We had it all
Just like Bogie and Bacall
Starring in our old late, late show
Sailing away to Key Largo

Well, let’s see how wild your imagination can get….. pretend those two on the plates are Bogie and Bacall.  No?  Can’t see it?  Me, neither!  So, just make it, eat it, and enjoy yourself!    And…..”here’s lookin’ at you, kid”.

Ingredients:

5 eggs, beaten

5 Cubanelle peppers  ( the long, skinny ones ), seeds removed, sliced fairly thinly

3 slices ham, diced

3 cloves garlic, diced

1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes, optional

salt and pepper, to taste

5 heaping tablespoons ricotta, optional  ( for the eyes)

olive oil, for frying

Method:

Wash the peppers and remove the seeds.  Slice them into fairly thin sections.  Heat the olive oil  on medium flame ( about 2 – 3 tablespoons ) and add the peppers.  Let them fry  with the ham  until they just start to brown.  Season with salt, pepper, the garlic, and red pepper flakes, if using.

Season the beaten eggs with salt and pepper and add to the pepper mixture.  Reduce the flame to low and let the bottom get lightly browned.  At this point,  I put the pan under my broiler  ( make sure it is all metal ~ no plastic handles or parts ) and let the top brown and bubble.  Or, you could just flip it over.  Or, you could try putting a lid on the pan and cook until the top looks done.

Add the spoonfuls of ricotta, if desired.




4 Comments leave one →
  1. corksandcurds permalink
    February 18, 2009 7:05 am

    A fritata I can eat breakfast, lunch and dinner!

    PS. glad my apple pie shenanigan made you laugh ;D

    • February 20, 2009 2:14 am

      Thanks for stopping by. Come back often, maybe I can make you laugh!

  2. Rich (your bro' permalink
    February 20, 2009 4:34 pm

    Thanks for all these recipes! Picky trivia comment — I think it’s Bertie Higgins… and I really like that song, too.

    • February 26, 2009 12:43 am

      Ooops! I must have goofed on my research information. I apologize to all Bertie Higgins fans!!

Leave a Reply

