Skip to content

I HATE SQUASH !! ~~ SOUP

February 9, 2009
I hate squash!!

I hate squash!!

I HATE SQUASH!! ~~SOUP

I was watching one of  my favorite TV chefs,  Tyler Florence, the other day.  He made a similar soup such as this.  I’ve made squash soup before, but Tyler roasted his squash.  And so I followed suit.  Since I am married, it’s all  I could follow  ( sure couldn’t follow Tyler as I desired!).  Anyway, this soup is “da bomb”!   I made it for my husband who kept saying, ” I hate squash”.   He had seconds.   Thanks, Tyler.  It’s not often I can make the better half eat his words!

INGREDIENTS:

2 whole squash (squashes?)  I used 2 butternut squash

1 quart chicken stock

4 cloves garlic, sliced

6-8  fresh sage leaves, optional  ( I’m sure fresh parsley leaves would also work just as well )

nutmeg

olive oil, drizzle

salt and pepper to taste

METHOD:

Begin by roasting the squash.  Cut the squash in half and remove the seeds.  Drizzle with a little olive oil and a little salt and pepper.  Put on a cookie sheet and roast in a 375 degree oven for about 45 minutes.  Scoop the roasted squash into a large soup pot.  Add the chicken stock and a little salt and pepper to taste. Mash with an immersion blender, or with a regular potato masher.  ( But, I highly recommend getting yourself a hand-held immersion blender) .  Keep at a simmer while preparing the garnish.

Meanwhile, heat a little oil  in a small frying pan.  Fry the sage or parsley leaves until crisp.  Remove with a slotted spoon and add the garlic and saute it until golden.  Add the garlic to the soup.  Grate with a little nutmeg.

Ladle the  soup into bowls and garnish with the sage leaves.

Really, really good!   You will be stealing that ad-line from Campbell’s:   “Mmmmm—-mmmmm  good!!”


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

