Skip to content

Mama’s Mah-velous Meatballs

February 9, 2009

MAMA'S  MAH-VELOUS MEATBALLS

MAMA'S MAH-VELOUS MEATBALLS

This is my mother’s recipe for Italian meatballs.  It’s funny, you know, because ALL the women in my family ~~  aunts, cousins, my mother, my grandmother ~~ use exactly the same recipe;  but, none taste like each other!!   So, it’s true.  There’s more to cooking than just a recipe.  You always have to add that extra something — your love.  Either that, or they all taste different because we all use our hands to roll them and I suppose that could be the reason.  However, I prefer believing in the magic!!!   At any rate, my mother’s always tasted the best to me.

INGREDIENTS:

1 lb. ground  beef  ( I use all beef;  but, you can feel free to use the time-honored mixture of veal, pork and beef ~~ ground)

3 large eggs  (if using small eggs, increase amount to 4 )

1 cup bread crumbs (not flavored, please!) moistened with about 1/2 cup warm water

1/3 cup grated cheese  ( I use Pecorino/Romano which I grate using my food processor )

fresh parsley,  about 1/2 bunch  ( if using dried parsley, use about 1 or 2 tablespoons )

4 cloves garlic, minced

salt and pepper to taste

METHOD:

Put all ingredients in a large bowl in the order presented and mix thoroughly with your hands.  Fry in a hot skillet to which you’ve added about 1 or 2 teaspoons olive oil.  Brown meatballs on both sides.  If you are not going to continue to cook them in your “gravy”,  then you might want to brown them on their sides, too ~~  just to be sure they are completely cooked through.  You can eliminate this step if using “gravy” since they will cook further that way.

I know you will love these.


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

