Skip to content

An “Extra-Ordinary” Pizza

February 9, 2009
Extra-Ordinary Pizza

Extra-Ordinary Pizza

AN EXTRAORDINARY PIZZA

I used the dough recipe that I found on another site;  one that is really worth visiting.  I’ll post the link at the end of my  recipe.  When I saw this simple dough on the other site, I just HAD to try it!   And, boy, am I glad I did!!  It is so easy and absolutely delicious!  So, now I had a recipe for the dough and I didn’t want to make just an ordinary pizza ~ so I came up with this recipe for an “extraordinary” one !! I really hope you will try this;  it’s really good and not a lot of trouble to make.  Believe me, you will impress your friends and family!


INGREDIENTS:


basic dough  ( recipe to follow )

1 lb. ground beef

1 onion  ( I only use Vidalia ), thinly sliced

1 can tomato sauce ( 15 oz. )

3 cloves garlic, sliced

1 ( 10 oz. ) box frozen spinach,  thawed and squeezed dry

1 carrot, grated

1/2 cup mushrooms  ( I used dried which I re-hydrated ),  optional

salt and pepper to taste

olive oil

a little nutmeg

basic dough:

2 cups flour,     2 tablespoons olive oil ,   1 tablespoon yeast ( 1 packet ), 1 teaspoon sugar,  pinch salt,  about 1 cup warm water

Mix all ingredients together, except water.  Add water, a little at a time, until dough forms.  Cover and let rest about 1/2 hour.

METHOD:

In a large skillet, brown ground meat in a little olive oil while seasoning with salt and pepper.  Remove meat and add  a little more olive oil and saute garlic and mushrooms.  Add spinach, a little salt and pepper  and cook about 10 minutes.  Add tomato sauce and simmer all together for about another 10 minutes.

Meanwhile, put dough in a pizza pan or cookie pan and bake in a 375 degree oven for about 10-15 minutes until lightly browned.  Remove from oven, fill with the meat-spinach mixture and return to the oven for another 10 minutes or so until the crust is nicely browned.  Remove from oven and sprinkle with a little grated cheese, if desired.

This one is a winner!!

Oops!  Almost forgot the link that I promised:  http://limeandlemon.wordpress.com



No comments yet

Leave a Reply

