Skip to content

PRETTY PASTINA

January 23, 2009

PRETTY PASTINA

Originally uploaded by heyclaire

PRETTY PASTINA

Here it was another night when the hubby & I had eaten a very late lunch. Secretly, I thought I’d be getting away with not having to make supper. But, right around 8:30 pm we both got hungry. My considerate husband said he’d be satisfied with cereal, but I felt too guilty having him do that. Especially since he had gone to the store for me earlier in the day. *sigh I really must do something about those darn guilt pangs!

Anyway, I hadn’t had a dish of pastina in over a year. It’s a fairly light meal and so I thought it would be good for a late supper. But, I wanted it to be a little different than my usual way of making it which is just to cook the pastina in salted boiling water and after most of the water is absorbed, add a raw, beaten egg and cook in the pastina and then eat it with some grated cheese.

So, I figured I’d cook the egg first. And, just to make it more interesting ( thereby easing the guilt a bit! ), I decided to cook the egg as a flavor-filled omelette. Inspiration!

Ingredients:

1 box ( 1 lb. ) pastina

2 eggs, beaten

2 TBSP. dried parsley flakes

1 can ( 14 1/2 oz. ) diced tomatoes

1 can ( 15 oz. ) tomato sauce

1 tsp. garlic powder

salt and pepper, to taste

grated cheese, for garnish

Method:

Add pastina to about 1 quart to 1 1/2 quarts boiling, salted water and cook until done; about 5 or 6 minutes. Simmer over low flame until most of the water is absorbed. Then add the  diced tomatoes and tomato sauce and seasonings. Shut off heat and stir all together.

Meanwhile, beat the eggs and season with salt and pepper and parsley flakes. Fry as an omelette in a frying pan with a little oil ( or butter, if you prefer ). Cut the omelette into about 1/2 inch pieces and add to the pastina. Stir everything together and sprinkle top with grated cheese.

Pretty and pretty good and fast!!
.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. theripetomato permalink
    February 3, 2009 2:45 am

    I think you and I have similar ideas on comfort foods ! thanks much for your comments on my blog, I am very much enjoying yours so far!

    • February 3, 2009 7:58 pm

      Yes, we have a lot in common ~~ I, too, have an Italian heritage although I’ve had to make the strufoli alone… no help…. and that is definitely a recipe that would be easier and a lot more fun having all the relatives pitching in!

      Love your recipes and your creativity in the kitchen!

Leave a Reply

