Skip to content

INAUGURATION BALLS

January 23, 2009

INAUGURATION BALLS

Originally uploaded by heyclaire

INAUGURATION BALLS

I am so happy Barack Obama won the election, I just had to come up with a way to show my joy.   Thus, Inauguration Balls was born! I wanted to make something red, white, and blue because I am once again so very proud to be an American.    It’s such a relief not to cringe every time our President opens his mouth!

But, it will be a great big pleasure when you open your mouth to enjoy this treat!

Ingredients:

1 can biscuits ( Pillsbury grands are  good, but crescent rolls may be even better )  I have to confess that for this I used thawed-out pizza dough, but it was very difficult to work with and hubby said it was too much bread.  So, I think the canned biscuits will be much better.

1/2 cup dried blueberries, or fresh or frozen

1 tsp. honey

about 1/2 cup chocolate chips or chocolate chunks

about 2 or 3 TBSP. raspberry jam

about 1/4 – 1/2 cup shredded coconut

Method:

Heat oven to 350 degrees.

Stir together honey and blueberries

Pull off about a large walnut-sized piece of biscuit dough.   Make a “dent” in the “ball”. Fill with a couple of honey-blueberries and a couple of pieces of chocolate chips or chunks, and a little coconut.  Close up the “ball” and put on a cookie sheet.   Spread the tops of the “balls” with a little jam, sprinkle with a little more coconut and push one blueberry in the middle.   Now you have red, white and blue balls!!

Bake in the oven for about 10-12 minutes.   And have a ball!!
.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. limeandlemon permalink
    January 25, 2009 2:15 pm

    Interesting recipe .. love the flavours in it … sounds delicious .. Laila .. http://limeandlemon.wordpress.com/

  2. January 26, 2009 12:38 am

    Thanks for visiting again, Laila. It is always so lovely to hear from you.

    I really love your site; and, as I’ve never tried to make anything like your recipes, I most definitely will be trying all of them!

    My darling daughter has improved the look of my site and I like it so much better, now. I’d love your input, also!

    Claire

  3. limeandlemon permalink
    January 26, 2009 11:35 am

    Hay clair … thanx for dropping by my blog … love your new theme … look much better now … easier to read too … i will be checking ur blog often .. stay in touch 🙂 .. Laila .. http://limeandlemon.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

