Skip to content

Goodness Gracious Great Balls O’ “Fiber”

January 16, 2009

Great Balls of Fiber!

Great Balls O’ “Fiber”

I was never a fan of the private life of Jerry Lee Lewis, but sure did love dancin’ to “Great Balls of Fire”! And that huge head of wavy, flaming-red hair always made me smile. So, here’s a recipe I came up with; not only in tribute to that hair, but also because I’ve needed to add more fiber to my diet! Also, I’ve included my little red dove which was made using the origami method ~~ my latest learning love!

Ingredients:

2 cups cooked rice, short grain

1 bag ( 16 oz. ) frozen broccoli & cauliflower together ( or use 1 bag of either one )

4-5 cloves garlic, sliced thinly

1 1/2 cups corn flake crumbs ( I made these myself, but you can use store-bought or use bread crumbs )

3 eggs, beaten

1/2 cup grated cheese ( or any kind of shredded cheese you like )

salt and pepper to taste

olive oil, for frying

Method:

Put the beaten eggs into one bowl and the corn flake or bread crumbs in another bowl. Season the eggs with a little salt and pepper.

In a large frying pan, or wok, heat about 3 tablespoons oil over medium flame. Add sliced garlic and saute for about 2 minutes. Put in the broccoli- cauliflower mix, season with salt and pepper and stir. Cover and cook until done. Meanwhile, cook rice. I have a little plastic rice-cooker made for the microwave. I paid about $6 for it and it works perfectly. Every time. I highly recommend getting one if you can. Look it up on shopping.com.

Anyway, after the broccoli mixture is cooked, remove it from the frying pan and add the cheese. Then just puree it in a food processor or use a masher. Take a palmful of cooked, warm rice and shape it into a ball ~~ about 2 inches in diameter. Using the thumb of your opposite hand, make a little indentation in the ball of rice and stuff about 1/2 teaspoon of broccoli mixture in it.

Next, roll the little rice ball into the eggs and then into the crumbs. Fry the balls in some hot oil ( I like using olive oil ) until they are golden brown.

Enjoy! If you want these to be really “balls of fire” sprinkle a little tobasco sauce on them before serving. Also, you can sprinkle some extra cheese on them for extra flavor. ( as shown in the picture )

You can do a little “happy dance” while you eat them, too!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 16, 2009 8:18 pm

    It’s too bad the photo isn’t more of a close-up because they look really good in person and they are absolutely delicious! When I was told, “they’re full of fiber” I thought they were going to be bland and heavy tasting, but they’re soooooo good!

  2. theripetomato permalink
    February 3, 2009 2:49 am

    This sounds excellent !! i’m going to try it. mmmm FIIIIberrrr

    • February 3, 2009 7:58 pm

      Thanks “tomato”! My daughter and son-in-law loved it! Let me know if you try it.

Leave a Reply

